Faculty Awards

The research, scholarship, and creative activity of past and present faculty at the University have long been recognized both nationally and internationally with prestigious awards, including the Nobel Prize, Pulitzer Prize, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, national academies inductees.

Additionally, the University of Minnesota recognizes and rewards its faculty for their vital role and outstanding contributions to the University’s teaching, research, and outreach missions through a number of programs, including Regents Professors, McKnight Distinguished Professors, McKnight Presidential Chairs, Morse-Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teachers, and the Outstanding Graduate and Professional Teachers.

Nobel Prize winners are those who, at any time in their careers, spent time at the University of Minnesota as faculty or students. For other faculty awards, the recipient has been employed at the University at the time of the award.

National and International Awards

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Elected members are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs.

Andrew Carnegie Fellowship

An annual fellowship program of the Carnegie Corporation of New York that provides up to $200,000 in support for scholars in the social sciences and humanities to take sabbaticals and devote time to their research and writing.

Foreign Academies

Members or honorary members of major non-US national or international academies, and recipients of awards from non-US governments.

Guggenheim Fellowship

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation provides fellowships for advanced professionals in all fields except the performing arts.

Lasker Award

Awards recognize the contributions of researchers, clinicians, scientists, and public servants who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, or prevention of disease.

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship

Fellows are named for showing extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.

Major Disciplinary Awards

Includes top awards in various disciplines from professional and scholarly societies.

National Academy of Engineering

Members are elected for their achievements in engineering

National Academy of Medicine

Members are elected for their achievement in medicine and health.

National Academy of Sciences

Members are elected for their achievements in science.

National Book Award

Awards are given for achievements in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, or young people's literature.

National Medal of Science

Medals are awarded for achievement in science.

Nobel Prize

Awarded for achievement in chemistry, economics sciences, literature, peace, physics, physiology, or medicine. 

Pulitzer Prize

Awards are given for achievement in journalism, literature, non-fiction, and music.

Wolf Prize

Awarded for achievement in agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics, and the arts.

University Awards

Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Education (Distinguished Teaching Awards)

Two University-wide annual award programs recognize teachers' commitment to quality education with recipients being inducted into the University’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers: The Morse-Alumni Awards and the Graduate and Professional Teaching Awards.

Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award

The Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award honors faculty who have done significant research, teaching or service/leadership to advance justice, equity, diversity and inclusion at the University, in the person's field of study, or in our broader community. These awards are meant to advance and elevate equity work; provide funding in recognition of the value of that work; and showcase critical scholarship, pedagogy, and community engagement.

Departmental Legacy Scholars

Includes "giants" from each department who spent time at the University before national and international awards evolved to recognize exceptional scholarship in those respective fields.

Northrop Professors

This award recognizes field-shaping faculty at any stage in their post-tenure career at the University of Minnesota—especially those who have made significant advances in their careers at the University of Minnesota, whose national and international work and reputation has been identified as having helped define the trajectory of one or more academic fields, and whose accomplishments have brought great renown and prestige to Minnesota.

Honorary Degrees

Individuals honored by the University with an honorary degree for their outstanding lifetime accomplishments.

McKnight Awards

Five award programs made possible by generous donations from the McKnight Foundation.

President’s Community-Engaged Scholar Award

The University's highest recognition for exemplary scholarship incorporating University knowledge and resources with those of the public and private sectors to enrich scholarship, strengthen democratic values and civic responsibility, address critical societal issues, and contribute to the public good.

Regents Professorship

Created by the Board of Regents and supported by the University Foundation, is the highest recognition given by the University to a member of its faculty for the scope and quality of scholarly or artistic work, quality of teaching, and contributions to the public good.