Foreign Academies

Members or honorary members of major non-US national or international academies, and recipients of awards from non-US governments.

Award and Name Department Year of Award
Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences award, in the category of Comparative Literature and Literary Translation
Nabil Matar English 2017
Royal Society of London
David Tilman Ecology, Evolution & Behavior 2017
Royal Society of Canada
Zhi-Quan Luo Physics & Astronomy 2014
Honorary Doctor, Research Institute of Experimental Medicine of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences
P. Patrick Cleary Microbiology & Immunology 2013
Officer of the Legion of Honor, France
Charles Fairhurst Civil Engineering 2013
Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
Gary B. Cohen History 2011
Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
Tryphon Georgiou Electrical & Computer Engineering 2011
Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Douglas N. Arnold Mathematics 2009
Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
Helga Leitner Geography 2007
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
A. Saari Csallany Food Science & Nutrition 2007
International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science
Donald G. Truhlar Chemistry 2006
Royal Academy of History, Spain
Carla Rahn Phillips History 2005
William D. Phillips History 2005
Academy of Athens
Apostolos Georgopoulos Neuroscience 2005
European Academy of Sciences
Efi Foufoula-Georgiou Civil Engineering 2003
Polish Academy of Sciences
E. Bruce Lee Electrical & Computer Engineering 2000
Royal Academy of Engineering, United Kingdom
Richard J. Goldstein Mechanical Engineering 1999
Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences
Avner Friedman Mathematics 1998
Royal Society of Sciences at Uppsala (Sweden)
Dennis Hejhal Mathematics 1997
Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tajikistan
Iraj Bashiri Slavic & Central Asian Languages & Literature 1997
Finnish Academy of Sciences
James Serrin Mathematics 1995
National Academy of Engineering of Mexico
Richard J. Goldstein Mechanical Engineering 1991
Finnish Academy of Sciences and Letters
Edgar Reich Mathematics 1980
Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences
Charles Fairhurst Civil Engineering 1979