Lasker Award

Awards are given to leaders in medicine (see the Lasker Foundation Web site for details and history about this award). Seven University of Minnesota faculty members have received the award.

Awardee Department Date

Robert A. Good

For his uniquely important contributions to our understanding of the mechanism of immunity.

Pediatrics and Microbiology 1970

C. Walton Lillehei 
Morley Cohen
Herbert Warden
Richard L. Varco

Joint award for advances in cardiac surgery, making possible more direct and safer approaches to the heart.

Surgery 1955

Philip S. Hench
Edward C. Kendall

Joint award for their chemical physiological and clinical studies of adrenal hormones which culminated in the development of the use of cortisone in rheumatic disease therapy.

Mayo Foundation 1949