National and International Awards

The research, scholarship, and creative activity of past and present faculty at the University have long been recognized both nationally and internationally with prestigious awards, including the Nobel Prize, Pulitzer Prize, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, national academies inductees.

Nobel Prize winners are those who, at any time in their careers, spent time at the University of Minnesota as faculty or students. For other faculty awards, the recipient has been employed at the University at the time of the award.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Elected members are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs.

Andrew Carnegie Fellowship

An annual fellowship program of the Carnegie Corporation of New York that provides up to $200,000 in support for scholars in the social sciences and humanities to take sabbaticals and devote time to their research and writing.

Foreign Academies

Members or honorary members of major non-US national or international academies, and recipients of awards from non-US governments.

Guggenheim Fellowship

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation provides fellowships for advanced professionals in all fields except the performing arts.

Lasker Award

Awards recognize the contributions of researchers, clinicians, scientists, and public servants who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, or prevention of disease.

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship

Fellows are named for showing extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.

Major Disciplinary Awards

Includes top awards in various disciplines from professional and scholarly societies.

National Academy of Engineering

Members are elected for their achievements in engineering

National Academy of Medicine

Members are elected for their achievement in medicine and health.

National Academy of Sciences

Members are elected for their achievements in science.

National Book Award

Awards are given for achievements in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, or young people's literature.

National Medal of Science

Medals are awarded for achievement in science.

Nobel Prize

Awarded for achievement in chemistry, economics sciences, literature, peace, physics, physiology, or medicine. 

Pulitzer Prize

Awards are given for achievement in journalism, literature, non-fiction, and music.

Wolf Prize

Awarded for achievement in agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics, and the arts.